The Hodgson Trophy

Hodgson Trophy

At each Arctic Winter Games, the AWG International Committee presents the Hodgson Trophy to the contingent whose athletes best exemplify the ideals of fair play and team spirit. Team members also receive a distinctive pin in recognition of their  accomplishment.

The distinctive trophy, which was donated to the Arctic Winter Games Corporation in 1978, by Commissioner S.M. Hodgson of the Northwest Territories, is a piece of Inuit artwork from the Canadian Arctic.

Scrimshaw decorates the narwhal tusk that stands as the centerpiece of the trophy, which is mounted on a soapstone base. A walrus carved into the base wraps itself  around the tusk. Near the top, a soapstone bear clings to the tusk, symbolizing  "reaching for the top" in competition and fairplay.

The Hodgson Trophy is on display at Sport Yukon Hall of Fame in Whitehorse, Yukon.    A framed photograph of the trophy is presented to the winning contingent at each set of Arctic Winter Games. 

To read the inscription on the Hodgson Trophy click here.

"Everybody's Got a Story" - Article from Northern News Service March 1, 2004

 Past winners of the Hodgson Trophy are;   

Yukon            1978 - 1988

Alaska            1990

NWT               1992

Greenland     1994

NWT               1996

Yukon            1998

Nunavut         2000

Greenland     2002

Nunavut         2004

Alaska            2006

Nunavut         2008

Alaska            2010

Nunavut         2012

Greenland     2014

Alaska            2016

Alaska            2018





The following individuals are eligible to vote for the Team that demonstrates and exemplifies the Spirit of Fair Play during the Games and will be recognized as the Hodgson Trophy Winner of the Games:

Mission Staff Members, Registered Coaches, All major officials in each sport, AWGIC members, All registered Media, the President, General Manager, and Sport Coordinator for the Host Society. All individuals eligible to vote will receive a color coded ballot to submit their vote for the Team who will receive the Hodgson Trophy for the Games.  Click Here to view a Sample Ballot

The Fair Play Pin

During the Games the Arctic Winter Games International Committee will award a distinctive Fair Play Pin to athletes, coaches, officials and others from all units that strive towards the Games objectives of fair play and team spirit. International Committee members award these pins at their discretion or on the recommendation of the Chefs de Mission.   

For information about this site Contact the Webmaster

This Website is produced by the Arctic Winter Games International Committee

Contact us | View site map